The Networking Platform for the World's Top Project Cargo Specialists

Sydney
22:51
Beijing
20:51
Cape Town
14:51
Los Angeles
05:51
Tokyo
21:51
Mumbai
18:21
London
13:51
New York
08:51

Khimji Ramdas Export 1500 HP Rig from Oman to Philippines

26th April 2024

Khimji Ramdas Export 1500 HP Rig from Oman to Philippines
Khimji Ramdas Export 1500 HP Rig from Oman to Philippines

Khimji Ramdas Shipping, our members from Oman, recently executed the multimodal shipment of a 1500 HP geothermal rig and its accessories.


The shipment consisted of a total of 144 pieces and a total volume of 7,000 cbm. 85 trailer-loads of varying sizes and shapes were utilised for transport.

Khimji Ramdas Shipping took charge of all operations in Oman, including:

  • Marine warranty surveyor arrangements
  • Route survey for the OD cargoes
  • Packing list preparations
  • Segregation & labelling
  • Customs clearance
  • Port handling
  • Cargo sorting
  • Loading
  • Haulage

The geothermal rig was crated and packed to be seaworthy by Khimji Ramdas' professional packing partner team, who were relocated to Oman for this specific project over twenty-five days.

"Marine warranty surveyors were appointed and observed the creation of the rig packing list & packaging process."

The shipment was executed with a plan to move 85 truck loads from Nizwa and Muscat to a storage yard in the area of Sohar Port. This was to counter the shortage of storage space in the shipper's yard.

In execution of the haulage, the team had to negotiate a number of challenges, with the major one being preparation of customs documentation and the packing list.

The geothermal rig was also refurbished in Oman with cargoes featuring multiple countries of origin. Customs declarations were required to be made separately for the Oman and non-Oman made cargoes.

Khimji Ramdas' customs documentation team worked with the shipper and identified each cargoes' origin to solve this challenge successfully.

Due to the fully-assembled condition of the rig, it required dismantling and proposed another challenge as this was not a known fact to the shipper.

Khimji Ramdas employed the services of a professional surveyor to measure the dimensions & weight of each piece to overcome this challenge.

http://www.khimji.com