The Networking Platform for the World's Top Project Cargo Specialists

Sydney
14:45
Beijing
11:45
Cape Town
05:45
Los Angeles
19:45
Tokyo
12:45
Mumbai
09:15
London
03:45
New York
22:45

C.H. Robinson Successfully Transports Superload

3rd November 2022

C.H. Robinson Successfully Transports Superload
C.H. Robinson Successfully Transports Superload

C.H. Robinson recently reported the successful delivery of compressor train components from Japan to the U.S. Two pieces were imported from Japan and shipped by ocean on a part charter to the Port of Houston.

Once in Houston, the pieces were used to build a compressor train weighing 79.8 metric tons and measuring 10.67 x 4.62 x 4.62 meters.

Since that size freight qualifies as a superload, C.H. Robinson utilised their broad carrier network to secure the specialised heavy haul equipment needed to transport the compressor train. With the use of a THP Modular trailer, the compressor train was trucked 25 miles from the port to a plant in downtown Houston.

Timing was key to this project’s success. The equipment needed to be delivered within a specific window because the refinery had to shut down operations to be able to install it.

To ensure everything went smoothly, the project logistics experts at C.H. Robinson took care to properly plan the loading and securing of the compressor train the day before so that transport time would be reduced.

"Careful planning and ongoing communication with our contract carrier were key to staying on schedule with this time-sensitive project."

http://www.chrprojectlogistics.com